Wallabies v. Wales : Team Announcement

Wallabies v. Wales : Team Announcement

The Wallabies will be out for their tenth win in a row against Wales when they face off at Millennium Stadium in Cardiff in the early hours of Sunday morning,

After sneaking home against the Barbarians last week, coach Michael Cheika has made several changes to the starting side with the news that Sean McMahon’s huge season in 2014 continues after being named to start at 6 with injury ruling out Scott Higginbotham.

Returning to the starting side in the forward pack are props James Slipper and Sekope Kepu, lock Rob Simmons and Michael Hooper who takes back the captaincy from Matt Hodgson, who returns to the bench.

The halves pairing of Nick Phipps and Bernard Foley are reunited with Joe Tomane, Christian Lealiifano and Adam Ashley-Cooper also returning to the starting 15.

Cheika has once again named and an extended bench of eight with Western Force prop Tetera Faulkner named amongst the reserves with a chance to make his first appearance in the gold jersey. Also named on the bench are forwards James Hanson, Ben Alexander, James Horwill and Will Skelton.

There are three backs reserves named with Will Genia, Quade Cooper and Rob Horne all dropping back after starting against the Barbarians last week.

1. James Slipper
2. Saia Fainga’a
3. Sekope Kepu
4. Sam Carter
5. Rob Simmons
6. Sean McMahon
7. Michael Hooper (c)
8. Ben McCalman
9. Nick Phipps
10. Bernard Foley
11. Joe Tomane
12. Christian Lealiifano
13. Tevita Kuridrani
14. Adam Ashley-Cooper
15. Israel Folau

16. James Hanson
17. Tetera Faulkner
18. Ben Alexander
19. James Horwill
20. Will Skelton
21. Matt Hodgson
22. Will Genia
23. Quade Cooper
24. Rob Horne

* one to be omitted


Canberra born and bred Rugby fan brought up on Canberra Kookaburra and ACT Brumbies Rugby.

More in Wales