Wallabies v. Ireland : Team Announcement

Wallabies v. Ireland : Team Announcement

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has made four changes to the squad to take on Ireland on Sunday morning, as he returns to one of his former stomping grounds of Dublin.

Following the loss to France last weekend, Cheika has made four changes to the starting side which sees Henry Speight make his Test debut on the wing, taking over from Joe Tomane. The other changes see Sam Carter return to the second row in place of James Horwill and joining him in the pack is Luke Jones who replaces his Rebels teammate Sean McMahon.

The other change to the starting side is Matt Toomua returning at inside centre in place of Christian Lealiifano.

Cheika has also named an extended bench of eleven players, with that to be finalised closer to kick off.

1. James Slipper
2. Saia Fainga’a
3. Sekope Kepu
4. Sam Carter
5. Rob Simmons
6. Luke Jones
7. Michael Hooper (c)
8. Ben McCalman
9. Nick Phipps
10. Bernard Foley
11. Henry Speight
12. Matt Toomua
13. Tevita Kuridrani
14. Adam Ashley-Cooper
15. Israel Folau

James Hanson
Tetera Faulkner
Benn Robinson
Ben Alexander
James Horwill
Will Skelton
Jake Schatz
Will Genia
Quade Cooper
Rob Horne
Kurtley Beale

3 to be omitted


Canberra born and bred Rugby fan brought up on Canberra Kookaburra and ACT Brumbies Rugby.

More in Ireland