Rugby Sevens

2014 Commonwealth Games 7’s squad announcement

2014 Commonwealth Games 7’s squad announcement

The Australian Sevens squad for the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow has been named today with a 12 man squad named to head to Scotland.

The squad will be looking to go one better after claiming silver with a narrow 24-17 loss at the Delhi games in 2010 to New Zealand, who have claimed the Gold medal in each of the four Commonwealth Games where Sevens rugby has been contested.

Newly installed coach Geraint John has only had a short amount of time with the squad since arriving last month but has the advantage with the majority of the squad having competed on IRB World Sevens series circuit.

Also coming into the squad are Liam Gill and Sean McMahon who both have Super Rugby experience, although both have played Sevens before. Gill was a member of the 2010 Commonwealth Games squad and McMahon was a regular for the Australian side before turning his attention to Super Rugby with the Melbourne Rebels.


Ed Jenkins
Jesse Parahi
Tom Cusack
Sean McMahon
Sam Myers
Liam Gill
Con Foley
Tom Lucas
James Stannard
Cameron Clark
Pama Fou
Greg Jeloudev

Australia have been drawn in Pool D alongside England, Sri Lanka and Uganda.

The competition will run over 2 days with pool play on Saturday July 26 with the knockout stage to be played on the following day.

Pool A – New Zealand, Canada, Scotland, Nigeria
Pool B – South Africa, Kenya, Cook Islands, Trinidad and Tobago
Pool C – Samoa, Wales, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia

Listen to Geraint John talking to Green and Gold Rugby in the latest Podcast

Rugby Sevens

Canberra born and bred Rugby fan brought up on Canberra Kookaburra and ACT Brumbies Rugby.

More in Rugby Sevens