George goes back to the bench

George goes back to the bench
"Yeah, yeah, experience blah, blah....yawn"

"Yeah, yeah, experience blah, blah....yawn"

The Wallaby team to play Ireland at Croke Park on Sunday has been announced. The only change from last Saturdays pom thrashers is David Pocock taking George Smith’s spot in the run on team.

No doubt this will stoke all the “Smith being past it” talk. I think it’s more of a case of the old head being better suited at the business end, and the young legs for the pace at the start. A nice situation for Robbie to find himself in.

The team

15. Adam Ashley-Cooper    (Brumbies)

14. Peter Hynes                    (Queensland Reds)

13. Digby Ioane                     (Queensland Reds)

12. Quade Cooper                (Queensland Reds)

11. Drew Mitchell                  (NSW Waratahs)

10. Matt Giteau                      (Brumbies)

9. Will Genia                          (Queensland Reds)

8. Wycliff Palu                        (NSW Waratahs)

7. David Pocock                   (Western Force)

6. Rocky Elsom                     (Brumbies, captain)

5. Mark Chisholm                  (Brumbies)

4. James Horwill                    (Queensland Reds)

3. Ben Alexander                  (Brumbies)

2. Stephen Moore                 (Brumbies)

1. Benn Robinson                 (NSW Waratahs)

Run on reserves:

16. Tatafu Polota Nau           (NSW Waratahs)

17. Matt Dunning                   (Western Force)

18. Dean Mumm                   (NSW Waratahs)

19. George Smith                  (Brumbies)

20. Luke Burgess                  (NSW Waratahs)

21. Ryan Cross                     (Western Force)

22. James O’Connor            (Western Force)


Matt started G&GR just before the 2007 Rugby World Cup and has been enslaved ever since. Follow him on twitter: @MattRowley

More in Ireland