Wallabies make changes for Perth test

Wallabies make changes for Perth test

Robbie Deans and his selection panel (whomever they are) have made four changes to the Wallaby starting team  for their match up against the World Champion Springboks this weekend in Perth.

Injuries to Berrick Barnes and Nathan Sharpe have seen the recall of Ryan Cross and Mark Chisholm to the side.  Cross has snagged the 13 jersey with last week’s outside centre, Adam Ashley-Cooper, moving in one spot to inside centre.  Chisholm, after injury shortened his Super 14 season, returns to the starting side and will lead the Wallaby line out.

The other changes see Brumbies prop Ben Alexander replace Al Baxter, as he did at the half hour mark in the Bledisloe Cup game last week.  Peter Hynes also returns to the starting side for the first time since last year, replacing Drew Mitchell.

On the bench, Quade Cooper comes in to cover the inside backs whilst Baxter and Mitchell are dropped to the reserves.

James O’Connor and Rocky Elsom were injury concerns but came through training unscathed and are set to retain their starting spots in the team.

The Wallaby side is:


The Tri Nations Trophy – in case you forgot what it looked like!

15 James O’Connor
14 Lachlan Turner
13 Ryan Cross
12 Adam Ashley-Cooper
11 Peter Hynes
10 Matt Gitteau
9 Luke Burgess

8 Richard Brown
7 George Smith [c]
6 Rocky Elsom
5 Mark Chisholm
4 James Horwill
3 Ben Alexander
2 Stephen Moore
1 Benn Robinson

16 Tatafu Polata-Nau
17 Al Baxter
18 Dean Mumm
19 David Pocock
20 Will Genia
21 Quade Cooper
22 Drew Mitchell

More in Rugby