Wallabies v. Argentina : Team Announcement

Wallabies v. Argentina : Team Announcement

The Wallabies team to face Argentina in Mendoza for the final game of the Rugby Championship on Sunday morning (AEDT) has been named.

After going down to the Springboks in Cape Town last weekend, Ewen McKenzie has made two forced changes to the starting side due to injury. Scott Higginbotham takes over at number eight from Ben McCalman who suffered a shoulder injury and had to return home. James Horwill takes the place of Rob Simmons in the second row after he failed to recover from concussion following the Springboks match.

There are four new faces on the bench which has a 6/2 split. Josh Mann-Rea has a chance to gain his first cap as does Jake Schatz, who flew to Argentina as cover for McCalman.

Will Skelton also makes it into the reserves after joining Schatz on the plane to Argentina and joins Benn Robinson, Ben Alexander and Matt Hodgson as the forwards reserves.

The two backs reserves are scrum half Nic White and Rob Horne, meaning there is no place for Kurtley Beale in the matchday squad of 23.

1. James Slipper
2. Saia Fainga’a
3. Sekope Kepu
4. Sam Carter
5. James Horwill
6. Scott Fardy
7. Michael Hooper (c)
8. Scott Higginbotham
9. Nick Phipps
10. Bernard Foley
11. Joe Tomane
12. Matt Toomua
13. Tevita Kuridrani
14. Adam Ashley-Cooper
15. Israel Folau

16. Josh Mann-Rea
17. Benn Robinson
18. Ben Alexander
19. Will Skelton
20. Jake Schatz
21. Matt Hodgson
22. Nic White
23. Rob Horne


Canberra born and bred Rugby fan brought up on Canberra Kookaburra and ACT Brumbies Rugby.

More in Argentina