All Blacks

Wallaby and All Black Test Teams Named

Wallaby and All Black Test Teams Named

The big talking point in the Wallaby team named to play the All Blacks this weekend is the move by Matt Giteau back to five eighth.

Robbie Deans decided to use him as the playmaker instead of leaving him at inside centre.

Giteau replaces the suspended Quade Cooper – whose suspension is currently being challeged although that’s unlikely to affect the outcome of this match.

As expected, Berrick Barnes comes into the run-on team in the centres although there was speculation that he’d replace Cooper in the No 10 role. 

Saturday night will be the first time that Gits and Sookface have been combined since the final game of last year’s Tri Nations Series against the All Blacks in Wellington.

Squeeky Moore is also recalled to the starting side with Saia Faingaa heading back to the bench.

He’ll be comforted by the fact that he’ll be sitting with his brother Anthony, who has been selected for his first test (if he gets on).

Matt Hodgson returns after injury and replaces Ben McCalman in the reserves.

The night will be a special one for lock Nathan Sharpe as he ties the Australian record held by former skipper John Eales for the most caps earned by a Wallabies second rower.

Sharpe, who made his debut against France in Melbourne eight years ago, will be lining up in his 84th Test.

For the All Blacks it’s Jimmy Cowan in for the unlucky Piri Weepu who is curently in very good form. Apart from that, it’s the usual suspects + Victor Vito on the bench for Liam Messam, who didn’t make the trip.


15. Adam Ashley Cooper    (Brumbies)

14. James O’Connor    (Western Force)

13. Rob Horne    (NSW Waratahs)

12. Berrick Barnes    (NSW Waratahs)

11. Drew Mitchell    (NSW Waratahs)

10. Matt Giteau    (Brumbies)

9. Will Genia    (Queensland Reds)

8. Richard Brown    (Western Force)

7. David Pocock    (Western Force)

6. Rocky Elsom    (Brumbies, captain)

5. Nathan Sharpe    (Western Force)

4. Dean Mumm    (NSW Waratahs)

3. Salesi Ma’afu    (Brumbies)

2. Stephen Moore    (Brumbies)

1. Benn Robinson    (NSW Waratahs)


16. Saia Faingaa    (Queensland Reds)

17. James Slipper    (Queensland Reds)

18. Rob Simmons    (Queensland Reds)

19. Matt Hodgson    (Western Force)

20. Luke Burgess    (NSW Waratahs)

21. Anthony Faingaa    (Queensland Reds)

22. Kurtley Beale    (NSW Waratahs)

All Blacks:

15. Mils Muliaina    (Waikato Chiefs)        

14. Cory Jane    (Wellington Hurricanes)

13. Conrad Smith    (Wellington Hurricanes)

12. Ma’a Nonu    (Wellington Hurricanes)

11. Joe Rokocoko    (Auckland Blues)

10. Dan Carter    (Canterbury Crusaders)

9. Jimmy Cowan    (Otago Highlanders)

8. Kieran Read    (Canterbury Crusaders)

7. Richie McCaw    (Canterbury Crusaders)

6. Jerome Kaino    (Auckland Blues)

5. Tom Donnelly    (Otago Highlanders)

4. Brad Thorn    (Canterbury Crusaders)

3. Owen Franks    (Canterbury Crusaders)

2. Keven Mealamu    (Auckland Blues)

1. Tony Woodcock    (Auckland Blues)


16. Corey Flynn    (Canterbury Crusaders)

17. Ben Franks    (Canterbury Crusaders)

18. Sam Whitelock    (Canterbury Crusaders)

19. Victor Vito    (Wellington Hurricanes)

20. Piri Weepu    (Wellington Hurricanes)

21. Aaron Cruden    (Wellington Hurricanes)

22. Israel Dagg    (Otago Highlanders)

All Blacks

Roscoe Tims (aka @LanceFree): A nasty, opinionated little man whose views are indeed narrow with a capital 'N'. Favourite Sport: mungo bashing. Does he ever have anything positive to say?

More in All Blacks