NSW Waratahs

Waratahs vs Cheetahs Super 14 2008 score

Waratahs vs Cheetahs Super 14 2008 score

Waratahs 23 – Cheetahs 19
Cut down to 10 minutes of highlights, this game didn’t look too bad. The Tahs backrow seemingly put in an unbelievable performance, with try making intercepts (Waugh), blind offloads (Palu) and try scoring bursts (man of the match Elsom).

Read any report though, and the other 70 minutes sounded pretty fµcking painful, with the Tahs unable to stroll the gaping holes in the Cheetahs backline. Not only a badly needed bonus point gone begging, but a home game almost lost.

Perhaps some-one who saw it could enlighten?

For Waratahs:
Tries: Turner, Elsom
Cons: Beale 2
Pens: Beale 3

For Cheetahs:
Tries: De Villiers, Nokwe, Van der Merwe
Cons: Bosman 2

The Teams:

Waratahs: 15 Sam Norton-Knight, 14 Lachlan Turner, 13 Ben Jacobs, 12 Tom Carter, 11 Lote Tuqiri, 10 Kurtley Beale, 9 Brett Sheehan, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Phil Waugh (c), 6 Rocky Elsom, 5 Dan Vickerman, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Matt Dunning, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Adam Freier, 17 Al Baxter, 18 Will Caldwell, 19 Beau Robinson, 20 Josh Valentine, 21 Daniel Halangahu, 22 Rob Horne

Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Eddie Fredericks, 13 Hendrik Meyer, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Tewis de Bruyn, 8 Duanne Vermeulen, 7 Darron Nel, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 David de Villiers, 4 Rory Duncan (c), 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Wian du Preez.
Replacements: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Bees Roux, 18 Phillip van der Merwe, 19 Hendro Scholtz, 20 Falie Oelschig, 21 Conrad Barnard, 22 JW Jonker

Referee: Kelvin Deaker (New Zealand)
Touch judges: Brent Murray (New Zealand), Damian Mitchelmore (Australia)
Television match official: George Ayoub (Australia)
Assessor: Wayne Erickson (Australia)

NSW Waratahs

Matt started G&GR just before the 2007 Rugby World Cup and has been enslaved ever since. Follow him on twitter: @MattRowley

More in NSW Waratahs