Wallabies v. Barbarians : Team Announcement

Wallabies v. Barbarians : Team Announcement

The Wallabies kick off their Spring Tour this weekend when they take on the Barbarians at Twickenham in the first of five games on tour.

The Wallabies will be led by Matt Hodgson and will welcome back for the first time in 2014 the halves pairing of Will Genia and Quade Cooper for the first game with Michael Cheika as Wallabies coach.

Winger Henry Speight will finally make his debut in the gold jersey after eligibility issues and injury had kept him out. Also in line for a debut in gold is Sean McMahon after an outstanding year with the Melbourne Rebels.

Nine players have been named on an extended bench with one of those to drop off following the final training run.

1. Benn Robinson
2. Saia Fainga’a
3. Ben Alexander
4. Sam Carter
5. James Horwill
6. Scott Higginbotham
7. Matt Hodgson (c)
8. Ben McCalman
9. Will Genia
10. Quade Cooper
11. Rob Horne
12. Matt Toomua
13. Tevita Kuridrani
14. Henry Speight
15. Israel Folau

16. James Hanson
17. James Slipper
18. Sekope Kepu
19. Will Skelton
20. Sean McMahon
21. Nic White
22. Bernard Foley
23. Christian Lealiifano
24. Joe Tomane

* one to be omitted


Canberra born and bred Rugby fan brought up on Canberra Kookaburra and ACT Brumbies Rugby.

More in Barbarians