Wallabies v Argentina – Team Announcement

Wallabies v Argentina – Team Announcement

The return of Will Genia to the starting XV headlines the Wallabies team to play Argentina in Rosario on Sunday morning (AEDT).

genia wallabies profileThe naming of Genia signals an intent from coach Ewen McKenzie to return to a running game style in a bid to avoid claiming the wooden spoon of The Rugby Championship in 2013.

In the only other change, Waratahs flyhalf Bernard Foley comes on to the bench in place of Chris Feauai-Sautia. Matt Toomua is battling an ankle complaint but with Foley able to cover both flyhalf and fullback his versatility could prove vital in the back end of the match.

The team named for this match bares little resemblance from the last match against the Pumas in Argentina with only three members of this squad part of the starting team last year in Ben Alexander, Michael Hooper and Sitaleki Timani.

1. James Slipper
2. Stephen Moore
3. Ben Alexander
4. Rob Simmons
5. James Horwill (c)
6. Scott Fardy
7. Michael Hooper
8. Ben Mowen
9. Will Genia
10. Quade Cooper
11. Joe Tomane
12. Christian Leali’ifano
13. Tevita Kuridrani
14. Adam Ashley-Cooper
15. Israel Folau

16. Saia Fainga’a
17. Benn Robinson
18. Sekope Kepu
19. Sitaleki Timani
20. Ben McCalman
21. Nic White
22. Matt Toomua
23. Bernard Foley

Kick off: Sunday 9:40am (AEDT) 8:40am (For those North of the Tweed)
Referee: Wayne Barnes (ENG)
AR1: Jaco Peyper (RSA)
AR2: Greg Garner (ENG)
TMO: Ben Skeen (NZL)


Canberra born and bred Rugby fan brought up on Canberra Kookaburra and ACT Brumbies Rugby.

More in Argentina