Wallabies change four for England test

Wallabies change four for England test

LONDON – The Wallabies have made four changes to their starting XV ahead of the weekend’s final test against England.

Halfback Nick Phipps and winger Sefanaia Naivalu have been drafted into the backline while lock Kane Douglas and utility back row Lopeti Timani bolster the forwards in what will be a key battleground at Twickenham.

The much-maligned Dean Mumm has been dropped from the starting team despite escaping suspension for a dumping clean-out last week.

His replacement, a powerful specimen cut from the same cloth as Waratah Wycliff Palu, was himself unceremoniously dumped from the matchday 23 despite impressing against France two weeks ago.

The 193 cm, 117 kg Timani will look to make hay against an English pack missing their own star heavyweights Maro Itoje and Billy Vunipola.

Kane Douglas comes in to the side as reward for a powerful performance off the bench against Ireland in Dublin last week, replacing Rory Arnold.

Similarly, Sefanaia Naivalu’s strong bench cameo which included a vital try brings the Fijian winger in for compatriot Henry Speight who has struggled in defence in recent weeks.

Nick Phipps’ inclusion comes as little surprise following the announcement that halfback Will Genia had been recalled by his French club side Stade Francais for a 10th vs 13th clash against Bayonne.

On the bench, Brumbies prop Allan Alaalatoa was unavailable for selection due to a rib cartilage injury sustained in the Dublin test.

Halfback Nick Frisby will also make his return to bench after an extended absence. His Movember moustache will not be be making an appearance. It is unknown whether shaving was considered a prerequisite for selection.

Qantas Wallabies team to play England at Twickenham Stadium, London, on Saturday 3 December, 2.30pm local time (1.30am Sunday 4 December AEDT)

1. Scott Sio (29 Tests)

2. Stephen Moore (c) (116 Tests)

3. Sekope Kepu (76 Tests)

4. Kane Douglas (30 Tests)

5. Rob Simmons (70 Tests)

6. David Pocock (65 Tests)

7. Michael Hooper (64 Tests)

8. Lopeti Timani (5 Tests)

9. Nick Phipps (51 Tests)

10. Bernard Foley (41 Tests)

11. Sefanaia Naivalu (5 Tests)

12. Reece Hodge (9 Tests)

13. Tevita Kuridrani (44 Tests)

14. Dane Haylett-Petty (13 Tests)

15. Israel Folau (51 Tests)


16. Tolu Latu (3 Tests)

17. James Slipper (85 Tests)

18. Tom Robertson (6 Tests)

19. Dean Mumm (56 Tests)

20. Sean McMahon (14 Tests)

21. Nick Frisby (4 Tests)

22. Quade Cooper (66 Tests)

23. Henry Speight (10 Tests)


Nic is a freelance journalist who first tried his hand writing for Green & Gold Rugby as a schoolboy. Five years on, Nic is our resident expert on Brisbane’s local rugby scene not named RugbyReg. In April 2018 Nic releases his first book, the official biography of Waisale Serevi entitled 'Waisale Serevi: The King of Sevens'.

More in Rugby