Dewar Shield

VRU Dewar Shield – Round 1 preview

Harlequins' Gus Hamilton receives the 2015 Dewar Shield from Rebels head coach Tony McGahan
VRU Dewar Shield – Round 1 preview

Can Harlequins make it four in a row, or will we see a new champion in 2016?

About the Dewar Shield

The Dewar Shield is the premier grade Rugby competition in Victoria.  Nine teams compete for the Dewar Shield; Footscray, Melbourne University, Endeavour Hills, Harlequins, Moorabbin, Southern Districts, Power House, Melbourne and Box Hill.  A home-and-away format is run over 18 rounds, with the top four playing in a knockout finals series.

For the last three seasons, Harlequins have won the Dewar Shield.  Competition is expected to intensify this season, with Box Hill and Melbourne University in the mix for premiership glory.

dewar shield

Harlequins – premiership glory for three years running.

Round 1 Preview

In a battle of contrasts, Harlequins will play against Endeavour Hills Eagles. The Eagles finished last in the regular season and on paper, Harlequins would be expected to win this match comfortably. The ‘Quins are known for slow starts to the season, so anything could happen.

Footscray will host the surprise packet of season 2015, Melbourne University. Blessed with a good mix of playing and coaching talent, the Students made last year’s Grand Final for the first time in decades. No doubt they will look to go one better this season.

Powerhouse, without their regular home ground unavailable (something about a Grand Prix), will host Melbourne at Newport. Powerhouse will look to improve on a disappointing 2015 season, whilst Melbourne will seek to improve on their top four finish from last year.

The Southern Districts Pirates will host the Moorabbin Rams as the neutral venue of Casey Fields. Moorabbin were unlucky not to play in the finals last year and will look to improve this season. The Pirates will look to build a strong team and push the strong clubs for a place in the finals.

The Box Hill Broncos have the bye for round one. They will start their season after the Easter break.

Melbourne University Rugby Union

Melbourne University  – looking to go one better this season.


Round 1 Schedule

All games to start at 3:10 p.m.

Moorabbin – Southern Districts (Casey Fields, Cranbourne East)
Endeavour Hills – Harlequins ( Frog Hollow Reserve, Endeavour Hills)
Footscray – Melbourne University (Henry Turner South Reserve, Footscray)
Power House – Melbourne (Loft Reserve, Newport)

Bye: Box Hill

The 2016 Dewar Shield drawn can be found here.

Melbourne Rebels and the Dewar Shield Clubs

As per previous years, each team is allocated four to five Melbourne Rebels players. From training to playing, you will see a number of Rebels involved in the local clubs.


2016 Melbourne Rebels Dewar Shield

The 2016 Melbourne Rebels, wearing Dewar Shield club jerseys. (Source:

Rebels play allocations are as follows:

Box Hill: Ben Meehan, Pat Leafa, Sefa Naivalu, Jamie Hagan.

Endeavour Hills, Nic Stirzaker, Jack Debrezceni, Sean McMahon, Siliva, Toby Smith.

Footscray: Cullum Retallick, Lopeti Timani, Cruz Ah Nau, Colby Fainga’a.

Harlequins: Paul Asquith, Tom Moloney, Steve Cummins, James Hanson.

Melbourne Unicorns: Jordy Reid, Mick Snowden, Reece Hodge, Cam Crawford.

Melbourne University: Tom English, Dom Shipperley, Sam Jefferies, Jonah Placid, Rob Leota.

Powerhouse: Dan Hawkins, Ryan Cocker, Harley Fox, Adam Thomson.

Moorabbin: Scott Fuglistaller, Luke Jones, Tamati Ellison, Tim Metcher.

Southern Districts: Laurie Weeks, Mitch Inman, Mike Harris, Sione Tuipulotu.

Dewar Shield

Diego Ghirardi is a rugby fanatic from Italy, living in Melbourne. Played on the wing, now mainly couch flanker or sideline halfback. Enjoys writing in broken English, which should be read in a Franco Cozzo accent to render it more original. In case you understand Italian, you can read his banters on or better not

More in Dewar Shield

  • Monday’s Rugby News – 06/09/21

    Welcome to Monday’s Rugby News, GAGRs! After yet another Bledisloe loss, the relative triumph of the French series seems a distant memory. Today, we will have my post-mortem of the Wallabies match, the Hospital Cup results in Queensland, the disjoint of the Super Clubs and where their professional and up-and-coming players are...

  • Dewar Shield starts tomorrow

    Victorian premier rugby comes back to local TV in 2019 Channel 31 comes back as broadcasting partner of...

  • Dewar Shield: Melbourne Unicorns champions

    The minor premier defeated the reigning champions Harlequin in a gutsy Dewar Shield final. Melbourne put up...

  • Dewar Shield: Harlequin perfect season

    Harlequin complete the perfect season with a 38-20 victory over Melbourne in the grand final. After coming...