First Rennie-era Wallabies named

First Rennie-era Wallabies named

The first Wallaby team of the Dave Rennie era has been announced as they set themselves to break an almost 20 year New Zealand hoodoo.

Your Wallaby 23 is:

1 James Slipper (Brumbies)
2 Folau Fainga’a (Brumbies)
3 Taniela Tupou (Reds)
4 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (Reds)
5 Matt Philip (Rebels)
6 Harry Wilson (Reds)
7 Michael Hooper (Waratahs) – captain
8 Pete Samu (Brumbies)

9 Nic White (Brumbies)
10 James O’Connor (Reds)
11 Marika Koroibete (Rebels)
12 Matt To’omua (Rebels)
13 Hunter Paisami (Reds)
14 Filipo Daugunu (Reds)
15 Tom Banks (Brumbies)

16 Jordan Uelese (Rebels)
17 Scott Sio (Brumbies)
18 Allan Alaalatoa (Brumbies)
19 Rob Simmons (Waratahs)
20 Rob Valetini (Brumbies)
21 Jake Gordon (Waratahs)
22 Noah Lolesio (Brumbies)
23 Reece Hodge (Rebels)

Immediate Takeaways:

  • Wilson, Daugunu and Paisami all to make their test debut.
  • Noah Lolesio up for potential debut from the bench
  • Hooper will play his 100th test.
  • Only Koroiebete and Hooper retain their starting spot from the last Wallaby test players. Uelese, Slipper, Tupou, Salakaia-Loto, To’omua and O’Connor were all on the bench for that test (RWC19 Quarter Final v England)

Stay tuned for our GAGR indepth match preview, with the All Black team included, to follow.


The original prop in a prop's body, but thankfully I have the rugby mind of a prop as well.

More in Rugby