NSW Waratahs

Bulls vs Waratahs review & score

Bulls vs Waratahs review & score

Bulls 16 – Waratahs 13

The summary of this game is pretty easy. It pissed down rain, the Waratahs got kicked around the park by the Bulls 10 Hougaard, and on top of that the Tahs lineout went to shit. Not a recipe for an entertaining match, and not a good sign for the Tahs ultimate ambitions.

It could have all been so different, had the Bulls “front-ranker” Werner Kruger not heroically knocked the ball out of Burgess’ hands as he dived over the line for what would have been the Tah’s second unanswered try in the first 20. Again Burgess was a dynamo through the game and rescued some very sloppy ball.

Considering the pressure it was under – repeatedly kicked into their corners and losing their own throw – the NSW defence held strong. Far more surprising was the NSW scrum, which you’d have to say pretty much dicked the big Bulls pack in that set piece. A pity about the rest.

The one piece of good news is that the bonus point for staying within 7 keeps the Tahs second by a point in front of the Hurricanes. Whichever way you look at it the final derby against the Reds is going to be one hell of a crunch game.

For the Bulls:
Cons: Steyn
Pens: Steyn
Drops: D. Hougaard, Steyn

For the Waratahs:
Cons: Beale
Pens: Beale
Drops: Beale

The teams:

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JP Nel, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Wikus van Heerden (c), 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Derick Kuun, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Bandisa Maku, 17 Jaco Engels, 18 Rayno Gerber, 19 Danie Rossouw, 20 Fourie du Preez, 21 Derick Hougaard, 22 Pedrie Wannenburg.

Waratahs: 15 Sam Norton-Knight, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Tom Carter, 11 Lote Tuqiri, 10 Kurtley Beale, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 WYcliff Palu, 7 Phil Waugh (c), 6 Rocky Elsom, 5 Dan Vickerman, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Al Baxter, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Adam Freier, 17 Matt Dunning, 18 Will Caldwell, 19 David Lyons, 20 Sekope Kepu, 21 Matt Carraro, 22 Brett Sheehan.

Referee: Lyndon Bray (New Zealand)
Touch judges: Brent Murray (New Zealand), Pro Legoete (South Africa)
Television match official: Michael Cupido (South Africa)
Assessor: Banks Yantolo (South Africa)

More in NSW Waratahs