IRB U20's

BMW Australia Under 20 squad announced for Georgia

BMW Australia Under 20 squad announced for Georgia
Dylan Riley made an early break leading to a penalty goal

Dylan Riley v NZ – in the squad for Georgia – Photo Stephen Tremain

After a challenging game against New Zealand yesterday the BMW Australia Under 20s have named a 28-man squad for the World Rugby Under 20 Championship, which starts on 31st May in Georgia.

The squad includes six who have played Super Rugby, four who are current members of the Aussie Sevens’ team and three others who were excluded from the Oceania U20 Championship at Bond University.

Although the young Aussies did not shine at Bond, ARU National Performance Programs Manager, Adrian Thompson, put it in perspective:

We will field a strong team – the Oceania tournament was a chance for the non-7s and Super players to press their cases for selection.

I have categorised the squad (unofficially) by position according to the listing order provided and estimating what the position breaks are.

But in reality a majority of players from most teams swap from one position to another in a World Rugby Under 20 tournament and versatility is valued.

Henry Hutchison scores for Australia, Australia v New Zealand

Henry Hutchison  – ace Sevens’ player is going to Georgia

The squad

Cody Walker NSW **
Harry Johnson-Holmes NSW
Shambeckler Vui WA *
Gavin Luka Qld **

Jordan Uelese Vic *
Efi Ma’afu Qld
Sama Malolo WA

Ryan McCauley NSW
Harry Hockings Qld
Angus Blyth Qld

Angus Scott-Young Qld
Liam Wright Qld
Reece Hewat Qld
Lachlan Anderson 7s
Rob Valetini ACT **
Lachlan Swinton NSW

Harry Nucifora Qld
Harrison Goddard Vic **

Hamish Stewart Qld *
Liam McNamara 7s

Sione Tuipulotu Vic *
Nick Jooste ACT
Izaia Perese Qld *

Back three
Jack Maddocks Vic *
Semisi Tupou Vic
Dylan Riley Qld
Henry Hutchison 7s
Simon Kennewell 7s

* Played Super Rugby

** Players who did not feature in the Oceania U20s (excepting Sevens and Super Rugby capped players)

Izaia Perese scores of a Quade Cooper kick through

Izaia Perese – may be required by Reds until Under 20s fly overseas – Photo credit Stephen Tremain

Ten shadow players have been added to the squad and will participate in the final camp at the AIS in Canberra.  They may be needed in case an injury occurs before or after the World Rugby Under 20s start, and need to be prepared.

The shadow players are:

Harry Chapman NSW, Vaauli Faamausili Vic, Angus Allan ACT, Theo Strang NSW, Alex Horan Qld, Isaac Lucas Qld, Will Eadie Qld, James Ramm NSW, Jayden Ngamanu Qld.

The four Sevens players will fly to Georgia straight from London, where they will be playing in their last tournament of the 2016/17 Series. They will arrive in Georgia on the same day as the group from Australia does.

Super Rugby players required for their 23-man match day squads in Rounds 12 and 13 will leave with the main group for overseas on May 22nd.

Those that are not required for Super Rugby in those weeks will go to the Canberra camp and train with the others.




IRB U20's

Voted most valuable member of the G&GR Forum since records began - Ed.

More in IRB U20's