NSW Waratahs



NSW Rugby hosted their 2017 Awards night on Friday night.

“Gary Owen III” attended the presentation and has filed this report, which outlines the purpose of the ceremony, key messages from NSW Rugby and the award winners.

Thanks “Gary Owen III” and congratulations to all the award winners – well done.


Gary Owen III avatar

by “Gary Owen III”

On Friday night, NSW Rugby hosted their 2017 Awards night at the Homestead in Centennial Park.

This year’s awards were a combined celebration of rugby across both the professional and the community game and represented the vision that Andrew Hore (NSW CEO) and his team have of re-uniting all of NSW rugby under one banner.

The evening saw Waratahs (past and present) celebrating milestones and achievements alongside their community rugby partners whom were equally recognized for their successes over the season. Matthew Burke and Damien Fitzpatrick were the Masters of Ceremony for the night.

The vision

Andrew Hore gave the opening address and explained the vision they have to bring rugby back from some recent dark days.

Their challenge is not a simple one – bringing together the various stakeholders such as the Waratahs, Shute Shield, Suburban Rugby, Country, Juniors, Schools, Women’s and Referees, which have to some extend all been running their own parts of rugby independently.

This vision will require strong leadership and all arms of NSW rugby pushing in the same direction. But it was not a night to dwell on the negatives. He spoke of the such things as the success of rugby at the grassroots level and the wonderful scenes of the Shute Shield Grand Final at North Sydney Oval.

The awards

The night moved onto the Awards part and was intermingled with both Waratahs and Community rugby players and officials being recognized for their exceptional achievements in season 2017.

Presentations were made by rugby luminaries such as Phil Waugh, Andrew Hore, Daryl Gibson, Angus Gardner, Dan Moore, Damien Fitzpatrick, Tim Rapp, Matt Burke, Kerry Chikarovski and Michael Hooper.

Here are the award winners from the night. Congratulations to each of you and thanks for the part you play in making rugby great again.

Source for all photos: NSW Waratahs twitter feed

NSW Volunteer of the Year (Youth) Rebecca Yeomans (Walgett)


NSW Volunteer of the Year (Seniors) Ash Miller (Sydney University)


NSW Girls Player of the Year Layne Morgan (Hunter)


NSW Boys Player of the Year Harry Turner (Eastwood)


NSW Colts Player of the Year Edward Gregory (Northern Suburbs)


David Dennis Award, NSW U20s Player of the Year Harry Johnson-Holmes (Sydney University)


NSW Rugby Community Coach of the Year (Female) Marboony Volkman (Sydney University)


NSW Rugby Community Coach of the Year Scott Coleman (Waverly College)


NSW Rugby Young Community Match Official of the Year Steven Martin (Sydney West Referees)


Chris Whitaker Aspiring Waratah Medal Ned Hannigan (Randwick)


NSW Rugby Club of the Year Hunters Hill Rugby Club



NSW Waratahs, Best Back & Best Forward

Israel Folau & Michael Hooper

NSW Waratahs, First Caps / Debutants

Michael Wells, Irae Simone, David Lolohea, Senio Toleafoa, Ryan McCauley, Cameron Clarke, David McDuling, Jake Gordon, Maclean Jones, Harry Jones, Mack Mason, Sam Needs and Andrew Deagan.

Departing Waratahs players were also honoured

David Horwitz, Matt Lucas, Dean Mumm, Will Skelton and Rob Horne.

NSW Waratahs

An ex-piggy who once played with lots of passion and not much panache, with the bravehearts, beasts and blue giants.

More in NSW Waratahs